Please enable javascript for best website experience

The Merseyside Textile Forum

The Merseyside Textile Forum is an award-winning re-use and recycling group set up by Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority to deter householders from putting unwanted textiles in the bin.

Created in 2012 the Forum was the first project of its kind in the UK and plays an important role in helping to divert an estimated 22,000 tonnes (per year) of clothes and textiles from ending up in the region’s landfill sites.

The Forum supports 30 members including local and national charities and provides a platform for members to discuss ideas, network and to share best practice.

Impacts

Over the last four years the Merseyside Textile Forum have delivered a number of social, environmental and financial savings including:

• Diverting more than 26 tonnes of textile waste from landfill,
• Recovering over £45,000 of re-sellable stock
• Avoiding the release of over 150 tonnes of C02 into the atmosphere.
• Directly engaging with more than 70,000 householders to help change their behavior.

In addition the Forum has contributed to increased levels of textile re-use and recycling across Merseyside with the latest waste composition analysis carried out by MRWA identifying a reduction in textiles sent to landfill from 22,000 tonnes in 2010 to just under 17,000 tonnes in 2016.

Membership

The Forum is currently made up of:

Age UK Mid-Merseyside – www.ageuk.org.uk/midmersey
Barnados – www.barnardos.org.uk
British Heart Foundation – www.bhf.org.uk
Cancer Research UK- www.cancerresearchuk.org
Claire House – www.claire-house.org.uk
Emmaus Merseyside – www.emmaus.org.uk/merseyside
Faiths for Change – www.faiths4change.org.uk
MacMillan Cancer Care – www.macmillan.org.uk
Marie Curie Cancer – www.mariecurie.org.uk
Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority – www.merseysidewda.gov.uk
North West Air Ambulance – www.nwaa.net
Nugent Care – www.wearenugent.org
Queenscourt Hospice – www.queenscourt.org.uk
Roy Castle Lung Foundation – www.roycastle.org
Salvation Army Trading Company – www.salvationarmy.org.uk
Scope – www.scope.org.uk
St Helens Council – www.sthelens.gov.uk
Wirral Hospice St Johns – www.wirralhospice.org
St Joseph’s Hospice Association – www.jospice.org.uk
Sue Ryder – www.sueryder.org
Village Housing Association – www.villages.org.uk
Wirral Community Meals
Wirral Council – www.wirral.gov.uk
Willowbrook Hospice – www.willowbrook.org.uk

Become a member

Membership of the Forum is free to any Merseyside-based charity. Any charity in Merseyside who is interested in joining the Forum should contact the Forum secretariat:

 

Useful links:
MTF Annual report: 2015-2016