Please enable javascript for best website experience

Recycling Centres switch to winter hours (25th Sept)

Merseyside’s Recycling Centres are set to switch to their shorter winter opening hours.

From Monday 1st October the Centres will be open from 8.00am until 5.00pm* – changing from the summer hours of 8.00am to 8.00pm.

There are 14 Household Waste Recycling Centres in the region. They are operated by Veolia Environmental Services on behalf of Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority (MRWA).

Chairperson of MRWA, Councillor Joe DeAsha, said: 
“Merseyside householders can use the Centres to recycle a host of items – from cans, car batteries and cardboard to garden waste, glass, paper, scrap metal, textiles and timber, and more.”



The picture attached is of Sefton Meadows Household Waste Recycling Centre.

From October 1st 2012 until March 31st 2013 Merseyside’s Household Waste Recycling Centres will be open from 8.00am until 5.00pm*. The Centres are located at:

Knowsley –
Huyton – Wilson Road – L36 6AD
Kirkby – Depot Road, Knowsley Industrial Park – L33 7UZ

Liverpool –
Otterspool – Jericho Lane, Aigburth – L17 5AR

Sefton –
Formby – Altcar Road, Formby – L37 8EG
Sefton Meadows – Sefton Lane, Maghull – L31 8BX
Southport – Foul Lane, Scarisbrick New Road – PR9 7RG
South Sefton – Irlam Road, Bootle – L20 4AE

St Helens –
Newton-le-Willows – Junction Lane – WA12 8DN
*Rainford – Southerns Lane – WA11 8EY
*Rainhill – Tasker Terrace, Rainhill – L35 4NX
Ravenhead – Burtonhead Road, St. Helens – WA9 5EA

Wirral –
Bidston – Wallasey Bridge Road, Birkenhead – CH41 1EB
Clatterbridge – Mount Road, Clatterbridge – CH63 6JE
West Kirby – Greenbank Road – CH48 5HR

Rainford and Rainhill:
Open 9.00am–5.00pm on Saturdays (Rainford)
Open 9.00am-5.00pm on Saturdays (Rainhill)
Open 9.00am–3.00pm on Sundays
Open 8.00am-5.00pm Monday to Friday.

MRWA is a local government body with nine elected members from the five constituent councils in Merseyside. It organises and manages disposal of all waste collected by the five councils and operates 14 Household Waste Recycling Facilities.